Concept Art Awards

The annual Concept Art Awards are judged by a panel of industry experts and recognize excellence in character, creature, vehicle/prop, environment, keyframe, color keys, and visual development. The 2023 Concept Art Awards will be held on Saturday, October 28th at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium during LightBox Expo and celebrates professional, independent, and student work, along with a Rising Star, LBX Luminary, Community Icon, and Lifetime Achievement Awards. You need a LightBox Expo badge to attend the show. Get one here.

Concept Art Awards

Attend the Awards Show with any LightBox Expo 2023 Badge. Get the badges here.

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Every year, the CAA Awards also honors the pioneers of the concept art world in recognition of their contributions to the craft, and how they paved the way for future generations of artists.


Past winners include:


Syd Mead
Ralph McQuarrie
Jean “Moebius” Giraud 
Hans Ruedi Giger
Ron Cobb


Brian Froud
Hayao Miyazaki


Craig Mullins 
Iain McCaig


Mary Blair
Katsuhiro Otomo

LBX Luminary Awards

This award shines the spotlight on a person from the concept art community who has made an indelible impact with their artwork in the past year.

The LightBox Expo Luminary Awards have been awarded to the following artists:


Stuart Ng of Stuart Ng Books


Christian Alzmann for his work on The Child in Star Wars: The Mandalorian


Andy Park for his contributions to the Marvel Cinematic Universe that year.


Domee Shi for Turning Red

Rising Star Awards

Celebrates an artist in the community that is either a recent grad or has less than five years industry experience and demonstrates exceptional skills and a unique career journey.


Artstation. Airi Pan


Artstation. Pedro Krüger

Community Impact Awards

Celebrating an individual who is making the community a better, more inclusive space.


Adobe. Abelle Hayford


Wacom. 9B Collective

Highlights 2022

Nominees from twenty five categories were celebrated across Animation, Live-Action, and Gaming from professional, independent, and student artists. 

Winners received a trophy from Legacy Effects, a One-Year ArtStation Pro upgrade, $100 ArtStation gift card (Student Categories only), a One-Year subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud, Lifetime Concept Art Association membership, their artwork featured in ImagineFX Magazine, and more.

Previous Years

Wayne Haag, Apple TV

Jackson Sze, Marvel Studios

Nutchapol Thitinunthakorn, True Axion Interactive

Neeraj Menon